Rules for Landlords and Renters in Utah
Under Utah's landlord and tenant laws both the landlord and tenants are entitled to a safe, and amicable leasing agreement within the parameters set down in the laws. Under the landlord and tenant laws in the state of Utah both landlord and tenant have rights that must be met in order for the lease agreement to be considered valid.
Under the laws, landlords are required to provide a safe and comfortable living environment under the building codes. Landlords are also required to provide peace and quiet, give 24-hour notice of entering the home, unless in the case of an emergency. Finally, landlords are required to give tenants written notice of rent increases.
In kind, tenants are required to pay their rent in a timely manner, notify landlords are necessary repairs in writing and must inform their landlord when they plan to leave the property for an extended period of time. Tenants must give landlords 15 days notice in advance of moving if the lease is a month-to-month agreement. Tenants forfeit their security deposit if they do not give ample notice or the do not leave the property in the manner in which they found it; beyond normal wear-and-tear.
Eviction by a landlord must follow the statutory eviction rules and formal paperwork must be filed with court in order for the eviction to be considered legal. Landlords must provide verifiable evidence of breaches in the rental agreement.
Under the laws in Utah both tenants and landlords have rights and responsibilities they must uphold. A court can intervene in the case of a problem with lease agreements on either party’s part.